A country popular with Russians joins the Schengen area, two more are in line

A popular country among Russians joins the Schengen area, two more are on the way

Only one of the candidate countries for the “borderless” Schengen area of ​​the European Union has received approval and will join the Schengen area on January 1, 2023. It will be Croatia. This decision was taken after a vote by the Member States of the European Union. The other two candidates, Bulgaria and Romania, remain in line.

“The Schengen area is expanding for the first time in more than a decade. The Ministers approved the membership of Croatia from 1 January 2023,” the President of the Council of the European Union said in a statement. Croatia was admitted to the EU by unanimous vote, but the candidacies of Bulgaria and Romania were not met with such unanimous approval by the ministers of 27 EU countries.

According to the available information, Austria expressed its protest against the admission of two Balkan countries to the borderless Schengen. The reason is the fear of uncontrolled migration from Bulgaria and Romania, which in the case of the “unlimited” Schengen will no longer be established.

“At the moment we have 75,000 undocumented illegal migrants in Austria, that is, they have crossed the external border of the EU and made it to Austria. This needs to be addressed in the first place, ”said Chancellor Karl Nehammer on this occasion.

For those who care about a healthy lifestyle, we recommend reading: “Doctors named 3 symptoms of cancer that appear when going to the toilet” .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.